How to Become an Optometrist in Quebec
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with Ordre des optométristes du Québec to work as an optometrist in Quebec or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“the process of issuing a permit to practice optometry and registering on the Roll”
From ooq.org/en/students-and-candidates/graduates-quebec, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $500
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des optométristes du Québec
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Take the necessary steps to obtain professional liability insurance coverage through the Association des optométristes du Québec.
Source
“Take the necessary steps to obtain professional liability insurance coverage (see the Association des optométristes du Québec — AOQ)”
ooq.org/en/students-and-candidates/graduates-quebec -
Fill out and submit the form for registration on the Roll to the Order along with the required payment of the professional dues.
Source
“then fill out and submit the form for registration on the Roll to the Order, along with the required payment of the professional dues.”
ooq.org/en/students-and-candidates/graduates-quebec -
Participate in the swearing-in and permit presentation ceremonies of the ÉOUM convocation event, or the permit will be mailed if you cannot attend.
Source
“Participate in the swearing-in and permit presentation ceremonies of the ÉOUM convocation event (if you cannot participate, your permit will be mailed to you, subject to confirmation from the ÉOUM that you have earned the diploma)”
ooq.org/en/students-and-candidates/graduates-quebec
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Ordre des optométristes du Québec
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $500
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Carefully read the information about the diploma and education equivalence recognition process and the language requirements.
Source
“Carefully read the information about the diploma and education equivalence recognition process and the language requirements.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-... -
Fill out and submit the application form to the Order with a cheque and the required documents.
- Fee payable (diploma or training equivalence or on the basis of a legal authorization to practice in Canada or the United States): $500
Source
“Fee payable (diploma or training equivalence or on the basis of a legal authorization to practice in Canada or the United States) | $500”
ooq.org/en/overview-cost
Source
“Fill out and submit the following form to the Order with a cheque and the required documents: Application for the issue of a permit to practice optometry on the basis of a legal authorization to practice outside Quebec or an equivalence of diploma or training.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-... - Fee payable (diploma or training equivalence or on the basis of a legal authorization to practice in Canada or the United States): $500
-
Attend the information session on ethical aspects of practicing optometry in Quebec.
Source
“The information session on ethical aspects of practicing optometry in Quebec must be attended.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $500
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $500 | 100% |
| One-time total | $500 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete and submit to the Order the application for the issue of a permit to practice optometry on the basis of an equivalence of diploma or training.
- Fee payable (diploma or training equivalence): $500 (for a diploma or training equivalence application)
Source
“Fee payable (diploma or training equivalence or on the basis of a legal authorization to practice in Canada or the United States) | $500”
ooq.org/en/overview-cost
Source
“The application must complete and submit to the Order. Application for the issue of a permit to practice optometry on the basis of a legal authorization to practice outside Quebec or an equivalence of diploma or training”
ooq.org/fr/filing-application - Fee payable (diploma or training equivalence): $500 (for a diploma or training equivalence application)
-
Enclose with the form the academic records, diplomas, certificates of training or examinations, employer certificates and proofs of legal authorization to practice that support the equivalence application.
Source
“Depending on the diplomas, training, experience and legal authorizations to practice they submit in support of their equivalence application, candidates must enclose the following with this form:”
ooq.org/fr/filing-application -
If required, complete the TECCO, a test of 300 multiple-choice questions reviewing the full scope of optometric practice in Quebec, generally required in cases of partial equivalence of training.
Source
“The TECCO consists of 300 multiple-choice questions reviewing the full scope of optometric practice in Quebec. It is generally required in cases of partial equivalence of training.”
ooq.org/fr/placement-test-tecco -
If a bridging program is required, complete it at the ÉOUM; the total cost is determined based on the number of credits to be completed.
Source
“Bridging program (likely to be required) The total cost is determined based on the number of credits to be completed”
ooq.org/en/overview-cost -
Fill out and submit the application form for registration on the Roll to the Order at least one month before the date on which you plan to begin practicing, with the professional dues payment and professional liability insurance coverage.
Source
“Candidates who successfully complete the bridging program and want to begin practicing optometry must fill out and submit the application form for registration on the Roll (Formulaire de demande d’inscription au Tableau) to the Order at least one month before the date on which candidates plan to begin practicing.”
ooq.org/fr/obtaining-license-practice
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Candidates from Canada or the United States must hold a doctorate in optometry from the University of Waterloo or from an institution accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education.
Source
“Doctorate in optometry from the School of Optometry and Vision Science, University of Waterloo. Doctorate in optometry from an institution accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...
Insurance
Candidates must take the necessary steps to obtain professional liability insurance coverage.
Source
“Take the necessary steps to obtain professional liability insurance coverage (see the Association des optométristes du Québec — AOQ)”
ooq.org/en/students-and-candidates/graduates-quebec
Other
Candidates from Canada or the United States must have completed the examination of the Optometry Examining Board of Canada or of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.
Source
“Candidates must have completed the examination of the Optometry Examining Board of Canada or of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...The language requirements must be met, as appropriate.
Source
“The language requirements must be met, as appropriate.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...Candidates from Canada or the United States must attend the information session on ethical aspects of practicing optometry in Quebec.
Source
“The information session on ethical aspects of practicing optometry in Quebec must be attended.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Optometrists authorized to practice in another Canadian province or American state must apply for a permit on the basis of their legal authorization, submit the required documents and fees, have completed the OEBC or NBEO examination, and attend the information session on ethical aspects of practicing optometry in Quebec. Source
“Issuance of a license based on the holding of an authorization to practice in a Canadian province or an American state”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...
Submit permit application
Source
“Fill out and submit the following form to the Order with a cheque and the required documents: Application for the issue of a permit to practice optometry on the basis of a legal authorization to practice outside Quebec or an equivalence of diploma or training.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...Attend ethics information session
Source
“The information session on ethical aspects of practicing optometry in Quebec must be attended.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des optométristes du Québec
Credential assessment
Diploma and education equivalence recognition
To recognize the equivalence of diplomas and education of candidates trained outside Quebec.
Source
“Carefully read the information about the diploma and education equivalence recognition process and the language requirements.”
ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-...
Exams
-
TECCO (Test d’évaluation des connaissances et compétences en optométrie)
Source
“The TECCO consists of 300 multiple-choice questions reviewing the full scope of optometric practice in Quebec.”
ooq.org/fr/placement-test-tecco
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des optométristes du Québec
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des optométristes du Québec
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Ordre des optométristes du Québec
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quebec | $33,109 | $97,000 | $178,000 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $81,000 | $162,000 | — |
Optometrists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Graduates from Quebec | Ordre des optométristes du Québec ooq.org/en/students-and-candidates/graduates-quebec · fetched October 10, 2026
- Graduates from Canada and United States | Ordre des optométristes du Québec ooq.org/en/graduates-canada-and-abroad/graduates-canada-and-united-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Overview of the cost | Ordre des optométristes du Québec ooq.org/en/overview-cost · fetched October 10, 2026
- Filing an application | Ordre des optométristes du Québec ooq.org/fr/filing-application · fetched October 10, 2026
- Placement Test - TECCO | Ordre des optométristes du Québec ooq.org/fr/placement-test-tecco · fetched October 10, 2026
- Obtaining the license to practice | Ordre des optométristes du Québec ooq.org/fr/obtaining-license-practice · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optometrist in Quebec?
Yes. Registration with Ordre des optométristes du Québec is required to practise in Quebec.
Which exams are required?
TECCO (Test d’évaluation des connaissances et compétences en optométrie).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.