How to Become an Optometrist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Optometrists of Ontario to work as an optometrist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Optometrists who wish to practise in Ontario are required to register with the College. To register, you must meet the requirements set by the College.”
From collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 8 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $474.60
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Optometrists of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You must meet the College's academic requirement.
Source
“Meet the academic requirement”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... -
You must write the approved entry-to-practice exam.
Source
“Write the approved entry-to-practice exam”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... -
You must submit your online application, which includes the application fee and supporting documents.
- Application fee: $474.60 (application fee including the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination)
Source
“The application fee is $474.60 including 13% HST. This includes the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction
Source
“Submit your online application which includes the application fee and supporting documents”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... - Application fee: $474.60 (application fee including the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination)
-
You must pass the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam.
Source
“Pass the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... -
You must pay the pro-rated annual membership fee and complete the required administrative forms.
Source
“Pay the pro-rated annual membership fee and complete the required administrative forms”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 8 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 7 steps without a listed fee
-
You must provide a notarized copy of your Doctor of Optometry degree certificate.
Source
“Provide a notarized copy of their Doctor of Optometry degree certificate.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction -
You must successfully complete the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam.
Source
“Successfully complete the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction -
You must complete the application process and submit fees, confirming the accuracy of the information in your application form.
- Application fee: $474.60 (includes the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination)
Source
“The application fee is $474.60 including 13% HST. This includes the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction
Source
“Complete the application process and submit fees.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction - Application fee: $474.60 (includes the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination)
-
Source
“If you have ever been licensed or registered to practise optometry or any other regulated health profession anywhere outside Ontario, arrange for the licensing body where you practised to complete a Certificate of Standing outlining your current status in that jurisdiction.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction -
You must provide written attestation from a non-relative colleague in good standing confirming that you were practising at the specified practice location.
Source
“The College will require evidence in the form of written attestation by a non-relative colleague registered in good standing with the Canadian jurisdiction where the applicant is currently registered, who can confirm that the applicant was practising at the specified practice location.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction -
Source
“Applicants must provide a Vulnerable Sector Check from the current Canadian jurisdiction in which they are practising, as well as any jurisdiction in which they have previously practised.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction -
You must provide a notarized photocopy of proof of citizenship, permanent residency, or a valid work permit with your application form.
Source
“If you are a Canadian citizen, provide a notarized photocopy of one of the following with your application form: Birth Certificate, Canadian Passport, Citizenship Identification Card”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction -
You must provide notarized copies of your diplomas or degrees from an ACOE accredited school, or arrange for your institution to send an official transcript.
Source
“Provide notarized copies of your diploma(s)/degree(s) from a school accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) or arrange for your educational institution to send the College an official transcript.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $474.60
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You must undergo a credential assessment of your education by FORAC.
Source
“Undergo a credential assessment (assessment of your education) by FORAC.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates -
You must successfully challenge the Internationally Graduated Optometrist Evaluating Examination offered by Touchstone Institute, for which you must be referred by FORAC.
Source
“Successfully challenge the Internationally Graduated Optometrist Evaluating Examination (IGOEE) offered by Touchstone Institute.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates -
After completing the pre-registration process, you must challenge the Optometry Examining Board of Canada exam to register with the College.
Source
“Once you have successfully completed the pre-registration process, you must challenge the Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) exam to register with the College of Optometrists of Ontario.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates -
You must submit your online application, which includes the application fee and supporting documents.
- Application fee: $474.60
Source
“The application fee is $474.60 including 13% HST. This includes the fee for writing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Examination.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction
Source
“Submit your online application which includes the application fee and supporting documents”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... - Application fee: $474.60
-
You must pass the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam.
Source
“Pass the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... -
You must pay the pro-rated annual membership fee and complete the required administrative forms.
Source
“Pay the pro-rated annual membership fee and complete the required administrative forms”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $474.60
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $474.60 | 100% |
| One-time total | $474.60 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Late fee for mandatory eLearning module: $118.65 (if the mandatory eLearning module is not completed within 30 days of the registration date)
Source
“Registrants must complete this module within 30 days of their registration date. Failure to do so will result in a late fee of $105.00 plus HST ($13.65), totaling $118.65.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera...
Requirements
Education
The College only accepts programs accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE), and it is the applicant's responsibility to check with ACOE whether a program is accredited.
Source
“The College only accepts accredited programs accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). The onus is on applicants for registration to check directly with ACOE about whether an ACOE program is accredited.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants
Experience
Applicants under labour mobility must have practised optometry at any time in the three years immediately before their Ontario application, or otherwise complete additional training, experience, examinations or assessments specified by the College.
Source
“Applicants must have practised optometry (as permitted by a general certificate of registration) at any time in the three years immediately before the date of their Ontario application. If unable to do so, the applicant must complete any further requirements to obtain or undergo additional training, experience, examinations, or assessments that may be specified by the College.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction
Police check
Applicants must submit a Vulnerable Sector check to ensure they have not been found guilty of any criminal offence or an offence under the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, and the Food and Drugs Act.
Source
“As part of the registration process, applicants must submit a Vulnerable Sector (VS) check to ensure they have not been found guilty of any criminal offence in any jurisdiction, or an offence under the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, and the Food and Drugs Act.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-an-acade...
Insurance
To practise as an optometrist in Ontario, you need valid professional liability insurance, and the College must receive confirmation of it directly from your insurer.
Source
“To practise as an optometrist in Ontario, you need valid professional liability insurance.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera...
Good character
Applicants registered in another Canadian jurisdiction must submit a Certificate of Standing/Letter of Good Standing sent directly from the issuing regulator.
Source
“A Certificate of Standing/Letter of Good Standing must be sent to the College directly from the issuing body (the regulator) and must be dated no more than six months before your Certificate of Registration is issued and activated”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Optometrists licensed in another Canadian province or territory can apply for registration in Ontario under the Ontario Labour Mobility Act by providing a notarized degree certificate, completing the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam, and meeting the administrative requirements, without retaking the entry-to-practice exam. Source
“Under the *Ontario Labour Mobility Act*, those applying for registration Ontario who are already registered in another Canadian jurisdiction will be asked to provide a notarized copy of their Doctor of Optometry degree certificate.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/resource/labour-mobility
Provide notarized degree certificate
Source
“Under the *Ontario Labour Mobility Act*, those applying for registration Ontario who are already registered in another Canadian jurisdiction will be asked to provide a notarized copy of their Doctor of Optometry degree certificate.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/resource/labour-mobilityComplete the jurisprudence exam
Source
“Applicants are required to successfully complete the Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam and meet all of the administrative requirements for registration including providing a Certificate of Standing directly from the Canadian jurisdiction where they are currently registered.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/resource/labour-mobility
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Optometrists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Optometrists of Ontario
Exams
-
Internationally Graduated Optometrist Evaluating Examination (IGOEE)
Source
“Successfully challenge the Internationally Graduated Optometrist Evaluating Examination (IGOEE) offered by Touchstone Institute.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates -
Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) exam
Source
“Once you have successfully completed the pre-registration process, you must challenge the Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) exam to register with the College of Optometrists of Ontario.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates -
Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam
-
National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) Exam
Source
“International Graduates who have registered for the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) Exam by March 7, 2025, will be permitted to continue registering for the other parts of the NBEO exam and their NBEO exam scores will be recognized by the College.”
collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Optometrists of Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Optometrists of Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Optometrists of Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $37,561 | $78,000 | $156,000 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $81,000 | $162,000 | — |
Optometrists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Applicants - College of Optometrists of Ontario collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application for a General Certificate of Registration - College of Optometrists of Ontario collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-a-genera... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Practising in Another Canadian Jurisdiction - College of Optometrists of Ontario collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/practising-in-another-jurisdiction · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Graduates - College of Optometrists of Ontario collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/international-graduates · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application for an Academic Certificate of Registration - College of Optometrists of Ontario collegeoptom.on.ca/applicants/how-to-apply/application-for-an-acade... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility - College of Optometrists of Ontario collegeoptom.on.ca/resource/labour-mobility · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optometrist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Optometrists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario.
Which exams are required?
Internationally Graduated Optometrist Evaluating Examination (IGOEE), Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) exam, Ontario Optometric Jurisprudence Exam, National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.