At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
  • Corporation renewal fee: $120 (for optometrists renewing health profession corporation permits)
    Source
    “Optometrists and physical therapists can register and renew health profession corporations. Effective January 12, 2026, the fees for corporations are as follows: | Health Profession Corporation Permit Fees | | | --- | --- | | Corporation application fee | $300 | | Corporation renewal fee | $120 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
  • Optometrists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,195
    Source
    “| Optometrists | $1,195 | $1,390\* | -14% | March 31, 2026 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,195
  1. Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal and select the appropriate licence class.

    Source
    “Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal. Once you have logged in, select the appropriate licence class.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  2. As part of the application, upload notarized photo ID, authorize a criminal record check, submit proof of professional liability insurance, provide the OEBC Exam Pass Letter, and pay the application fee.

    Source
    “Upload copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID (e.g., passport, driver’s licence, healthcare card) - Authorize a criminal record check (for applicants who have resided in another jurisdiction, an authorization for a criminal record check in that jurisdiction or a criminal record report in a form satisfactory to the registrar) - Submit proof of professional liability insurance - Provide a copy of the OEBC Exam Pass Letter confirming successful completion of both the written exam and the OSCE - Pay the application fee”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  3. Arrange for your graduate academic transcript to be sent directly to the College.

    Source
    “Arrange for your academic transcript (graduate), to be sent directly to the College at [email protected].”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  4. Arrange for a Certificate of Standing or Letter of Good Standing to be sent directly to CHCPBC from each regulatory body that has previously authorized you to practise.

    Source
    “Arrange for a completed Certificate of Standing (PDF) or a Letter of Good Standing to be sent directly to CHCPBC at [email protected] from each regulatory body that has previously registered, licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized you to practise optometry or another health profession.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,195 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

  • Corporation renewal fee: $120 (for optometrists renewing health profession corporation permits)
    Source
    “Optometrists and physical therapists can register and renew health profession corporations. Effective January 12, 2026, the fees for corporations are as follows: | Health Profession Corporation Permit Fees | | | --- | --- | | Corporation application fee | $300 | | Corporation renewal fee | $120 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
  • Optometrists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,195
    Source
    “| Optometrists | $1,195 | $1,390\* | -14% | March 31, 2026 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,195
  1. Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal and select the appropriate licence class.

    Source
    “Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal. Once you have logged in, select the appropriate licence class.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  2. As part of the application, upload notarized photo ID, authorize a criminal record check, submit proof of professional liability insurance, and pay the application fee.

    Source
    “Upload copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID (e.g., passport, driver’s licence, healthcare card) - Authorize a criminal record check (for applicants who have resided in another jurisdiction, an authorization for a criminal record check in that jurisdiction or a criminal record report in a form satisfactory to the registrar) - Submit proof of professional liability insurance - Pay the application fee”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  3. Arrange for a Certificate of Standing or Letter of Good Standing to be sent directly to CHCPBC from each regulatory body that has previously authorized you to practise.

    Source
    “Arrange for a completed Certificate of Standing (PDF) or a Letter of Good Standing to be sent directly to CHCPBC at [email protected] from each regulatory body that has previously registered, licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized you to practise optometry or another health profession.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,195 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

  • Corporation renewal fee: $120 (for optometrists renewing health profession corporation permits)
    Source
    “Optometrists and physical therapists can register and renew health profession corporations. Effective January 12, 2026, the fees for corporations are as follows: | Health Profession Corporation Permit Fees | | | --- | --- | | Corporation application fee | $300 | | Corporation renewal fee | $120 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
  • Optometrists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,195
    Source
    “| Optometrists | $1,195 | $1,390\* | -14% | March 31, 2026 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...

Trained outside Canada

  • 6 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,195
  1. Complete the credential assessment by FORAC and arrange for a letter from FORAC confirming successful completion.

    Source
    “you are required to successfully complete the credential assessment by the Federation of Optometry Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FORAC). You may contact FORAC directly by calling (647-746-2050) or email [email protected].”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  2. Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal and select the appropriate licence class.

    Source
    “Create an account on the CHCPBC Licensee Portal. Once you have logged in, select the appropriate licence class.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  3. As part of the application, upload notarized photo ID, authorize a criminal record check, submit proof of professional liability insurance, provide the OEBC Exam Pass Letter, and pay the application fee.

    Source
    “Upload copies of two pieces of notarized government-issued photo ID (e.g., passport, driver’s licence, healthcare card) - Authorize a criminal record check (for applicants who have resided in another jurisdiction, an authorization for a criminal record check in that jurisdiction or a criminal record report in a form satisfactory to the registrar) - Submit proof of professional liability insurance - Provide a copy of the OEBC Exam Pass Letter confirming successful completion of both the written exam and the OSCE - Pay the application fee”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  4. Arrange for your graduate academic transcript to be sent directly to the College.

    Source
    “Arrange for your academic transcript (graduate), to be sent directly to the College at [email protected].”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  5. Arrange for a Certificate of Standing or Letter of Good Standing to be sent directly to CHCPBC from each regulatory body that has previously authorized you to practise.

    Source
    “Arrange for a completed Certificate of Standing (PDF) or a Letter of Good Standing to be sent directly to CHCPBC at [email protected] from each regulatory body that has previously registered, licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized you to practise optometry or another health profession.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  6. Arrange for a letter from FORAC confirming your successful completion of the credential assessment.

    Source
    “Arrange for a letter from FORAC confirming your successful completion of the credential assessment.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC

6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,195 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

  • Corporation renewal fee: $120 (for optometrists renewing health profession corporation permits)
    Source
    “Optometrists and physical therapists can register and renew health profession corporations. Effective January 12, 2026, the fees for corporations are as follows: | Health Profession Corporation Permit Fees | | | --- | --- | | Corporation application fee | $300 | | Corporation renewal fee | $120 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
  • Optometrists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,195
    Source
    “| Optometrists | $1,195 | $1,390\* | -14% | March 31, 2026 |”
    chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have graduated from a Recognized School of Optometry, or internationally trained applicants must complete a FORAC credential assessment.

    Source
    “If you are an internationally trained optometrist who has graduated from a school *other* than one listed as a Recognized School of Optometry, you are required to successfully complete the credential assessment by the Federation of Optometry Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FORAC).”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Police check

  • Applicants must authorize a criminal record check, and applicants who have resided in another jurisdiction must provide an authorization for a criminal record check in that jurisdiction or a criminal record report satisfactory to the registrar.

    Source
    “Authorize a criminal record check (for applicants who have resided in another jurisdiction, an authorization for a criminal record check in that jurisdiction or a criminal record report in a form satisfactory to the registrar)”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Insurance

  • Applicants must submit proof of professional liability insurance.

    Source
    “Submit proof of professional liability insurance”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Other

  • Applicants must provide a copy of the OEBC Exam Pass Letter confirming successful completion of both the written exam and the OSCE.

    Source
    “Provide a copy of the OEBC Exam Pass Letter confirming successful completion of both the written exam and the OSCE”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry
  • Applicants must arrange for a Certificate of Standing or Letter of Good Standing from each regulatory body that has previously authorized them to practise, dated within 60 days of the licence number being issued.

    Source
    “The letter must be dated within 60 days of your licence number being issued by CHCPBC.”
    chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants registered in another Canadian jurisdiction apply under CFTA labour mobility rules and do not have to pass the OEBC examination before applying to practise in BC.

Source
“I didn’t complete the OEBC examination but am currently registered to practise optometry in another Canadian jurisdiction. Do I have to pass the OEBC examination before applying to practise in BC? No. If you are registered in another Canadian jurisdiction, when you apply to BC, CFTA (labour mobility) rules apply.”
chcpbc.org/2025/03/14/nbeo-exam-not-accepted-for-optometry-licensur...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in British Columbia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
British Columbia $37,929 $69,500 $145,000 Very good (5 of 5)
Canada $32,867 $81,000 $162,000 —

Wages by region and job outlook in British Columbia

Wages in every province and territory

Optometrists in other provinces and territories

Compare optometrist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. NBEO Exam no longer accepted for optometry licensure in BC | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/03/14/nbeo-exam-not-accepted-for-optometry-licensur... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Optometry | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/optometry · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an optometrist in British Columbia?

Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.

Which exams are required?

OEBC Exam, NBEO Exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.