At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPTA

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Complete an approved physiotherapy degree program in Canada.

    Source
    “An approved physiotherapy degree program”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physiotherapist-o...
  2. Successfully complete the written component of the Physiotherapy Competency Examination administered by CAPR.

    Source
    “Written Component: The Physiotherapy Competency Examination administered by CAPR.”
    cpta.ab.ca/news-and-updates/clinical-examination-updates
  3. Apply for registration on the Provisional Register, which requires practice under supervision.

    Source
    “Apply for registration on the Provisional Register, which requires practice under supervision\*, and”
    cpta.ab.ca/news-and-updates/clinical-examination-updates
  4. Successfully complete either Alberta's Post-Graduate Clinical Examination or the new CAPR single licensure examination to obtain registration on the General Register and independent practice.

    Source
    “Successfully complete either Alberta’s PGCE or the new CAPR single licensure examination to obtain registration on the General Register and independent practice.”
    cpta.ab.ca/news-and-updates/clinical-examination-updates

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CPTA

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $125
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Pass the College of Physiotherapists of Alberta's jurisprudence module, which evaluates your understanding and application of the rules governing practice in Alberta.

    Source
    “Passed the  College of Physiotherapists of Alberta's jurisprudence module, which evaluates your understanding and application of the rules governing practice in Alberta.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...
  2. Complete the mandatory education in place to protect patients from sexual abuse and sexual misconduct by physiotherapists.

    Source
    “Completed the  mandatory education in place to protect patients from sexual abuse and sexual misconduct by physiotherapists.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...
  3. Purchase professional liability insurance in the amount of $5 million for the annual policy period, with a minimum liability limit of $5 million per occurrence.

    Source
    “Purchased professional liability insurance in the amount of $5 million for the annual policy period, and a minimum liability limit of $5 million per occurrence.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...
  4. Order a criminal record check to be sent directly to the College.

    Source
    “Ordered a  [criminal record check](https://www.cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/international-crimin”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...
  5. Meet the English language proficiency requirement through one of the accepted options, such as an approved English language test or verification from a regulatory body or employer.

    Source
    “Passed an approved English Language test.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...
  6. Apply to be registered, including documents such as the Jurisprudence Module Exam Summary, education certificate, insurance certificate, and identification with the application.

    Source
    “When you apply, documents you will include WITH your application:”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $125

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $125 100%
One-time total $125 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. First complete the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR) credentialling process.

    Source
    “Internationally educated physiotherapists or physical therapists first complete the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators (CAPR) credentialling process.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physiotherapist-o...
  2. After successful completion of the credentialling process, apply to become a physiotherapist intern or physical therapist intern.

    Source
    “After successful completion, candidates may apply to become physiotherapist interns or physical therapist interns.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physiotherapist-o...
  3. Pass an approved clinical examination to apply for registration on the General Register and authorization to practice independently.

    Source
    “If you graduated from a physiotherapy program outside of Canada and passed an approved clinical examination, you may apply for registration on the General Register and authorization to practice independently.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/educated-outside-canada

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CPTA

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE): $2,500 (cost of the new CAPR examination)
    Source
    “The cost of the new CAPR examination is $2,500.”
    cpta.ab.ca/news-and-updates/clinical-examination-updates
  • Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE) discounted: $1,800 (for candidates who have already passed the written component of the Physiotherapy Competency Examination)
    Source
    “The CPTE will be offered at a discount rate of $1,800 in 2026 for candidates who have already passed the written component of the Physiotherapy Competency Examination.”
    cpta.ab.ca/news-and-updates/clinical-examination-updates
  • Criminal record check (Canada): $29 (Canada)
    Source
    “Criminal record check | | Canada - $29 + tax United States - $31 + tax Other countries - range is $35 - $350”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/courtesy-register
  • Criminal record check (United States): $31 (United States)
    Source
    “Criminal record check | | Canada - $29 + tax United States - $31 + tax Other countries - range is $35 - $350”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/courtesy-register

Requirements

Education

Police check

Insurance

  • You must personally hold professional liability insurance in the amount of $5 million for the annual policy period, with a minimum liability limit of $5 million per occurrence.

    Source
    “Personally hold professional liability insurance in the amount of $5 million for the annual policy period, and a minimum liability limit of $5 million per occurrence.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Applicants currently registered in another Canadian province or territory (except Nunavut) with a similar register or license type may be eligible for a streamlined registration process without retaking the entry-to-practice exam.

Source
“If you are registered in Canada (except Nunavut), you may be eligible for a streamlined registration process.”
cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...

  1. Apply to General Register

    Source
    “If you are registered in Canada (except Nunavut), you may be eligible for a streamlined registration process.”
    cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPTA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPTA

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with CPTA

Exemptions: Applicants may demonstrate English proficiency through alternatives such as completing secondary schooling in English, verification from a Canadian regulatory body, CAPR verification, an employer letter, or passing an approved English language test.

Source
“Arranged for an employer to provide a letter or other evidence to confirm you are competent to practice physiotherapy in English.”
cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen...

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Physiotherapists registered by and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.

Source
“Physiotherapists who are registered by and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physiotherapist-o...

Supervised practice

Required

A physiotherapist intern has met all requirements for a PT except the Post-Graduate Clinical Examination and must work under the supervision of a PT.

Source
“Must work under the supervision of a PT”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physiotherapist-o...

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $34.62 $46.00 $62.03 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $30.00 $46.15 $56.21 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Physiotherapists in other provinces and territories

Compare physiotherapist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Physiotherapist or Physical Therapist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physiotherapist-o... · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Educated in Canada — College of Physiotherapists of Alberta cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/educated-in-canada · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Changes to Registration Examination Requirement in 2026 — College of Physiotherapists of Alberta cpta.ab.ca/news-and-updates/clinical-examination-updates · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Registered In Canada — College of Physiotherapists of Alberta cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Registered in Canada: General Register — College of Physiotherapists of Alberta cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/registered-in-canada-general-register/gen... · fetched October 9, 2026
  6. Courtesy Register — College of Physiotherapists of Alberta cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/courtesy-register · fetched October 9, 2026
  7. Educated Outside Canada — College of Physiotherapists of Alberta cpta.ab.ca/for-applicants/educated-outside-canada · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a physiotherapist in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the College of Physiotherapists of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

Physiotherapy Competency Examination Written Component, Alberta Post-Graduate Clinical Examination, CPTA jurisprudence module, Canadian Physiotherapy Examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.