How to Become a Physiotherapist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario to work as a physiotherapist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In Ontario, the regulatory body is the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario. You must get a license from the College before you can practice in Ontario.”
From collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $114
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $114
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $114
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Physiotherapists of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $114
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 1 of 2 steps state a time)
-
Successfully complete the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination or the Ontario Clinical Exam.
Source
“You can apply for an Independent Practice Certificate of Registration after you have successfully completed the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination or the Ontario Clinical Exam.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply -
Apply for an Independent Practice Certificate of Registration with the College.
- Application fee: $114
Time: 15 daysTime source
“Timeline: Complete applications will be processed within 15 days. Please check your email for updates about your application.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-applySource
“After you successfully complete the steps outlined above — including having your credentials assessed and successfully completing the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination — you are eligible to apply for Independent Practice.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $114
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $114 | 100% |
| One-time total | $114 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $114
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 1 of 2 steps state a time)
-
If you have practiced outside Ontario or Canada, submit a completed Regulatory History Form from each jurisdiction where you have been registered, sent by the licensing authority.
Source
“If you have practiced physiotherapy outside of Ontario or Canada, you will need to submit a completed Regulatory History Form to the College from each jurisdiction where you have been registered. Your application cannot be processed until we have received this information from all jurisdictions where you previously registered.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply -
Apply for Independent Practice registration in Ontario.
- Application fee: $114
Time: 15 daysTime source
“Timeline: Complete applications will be processed within 15 days. Please check your email for updates regarding your application.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-applySource
“Use this option if you’re currently registered to practice physiotherapy in another Canadian province and would like to apply for Independent Practice in Ontario.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $114
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $114 | 100% |
| One-time total | $114 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $114
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.5 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Have your credentials assessed through the credentialling service offered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators.
Source
“Be a graduate of a physiotherapy program outside of Canada that was deemed to be substantially equivalent to a Canadian physiotherapy program through the credentialling service offered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/universities-and-brid... -
Successfully complete the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination.
Source
“The new Canadian Physiotherapy Examination administered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply -
Apply for an Independent Practice Certificate of Registration with the College.
- Application fee: $114
Time: 15 daysTime source
“Timeline: Complete applications will be processed within 15 days. Please check your email for updates about your application.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-applySource
“After you successfully complete the steps outlined above — including having your credentials assessed and successfully completing the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination — you are eligible to apply for Independent Practice.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $114
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $114 | 100% |
| One-time total | $114 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Applicants must be a graduate of an Ontario Masters of Physiotherapy program, another Canadian physiotherapy program, or a program outside Canada deemed substantially equivalent through the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators credentialling service.
Source
“Be a graduate of a physiotherapy program outside of Canada that was deemed to be substantially equivalent to a Canadian physiotherapy program through the credentialling service offered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/universities-and-brid...
Experience
Applicants who have not completed an approved clinical examination within the past five years must have accumulated a minimum of 1,200 practice hours over that period to be issued an Independent Practice Certificate.
Source
“it’s a standard requirement for applicants who have not completed a clinical examination approved by Council within the past five years to have accumulated a minimum of 1,200 practice hours over that same period to be issued an Independent Practice Certificate of Registration”
collegept.org/2023/08/23/jumping-back-in
Insurance
Applicants must have professional liability insurance that meets the College's requirements.
Source
“You have professional liability insurance that meets the College’s requirements. Please verify that your insurance provides coverage in Ontario.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Under labour mobility, professionals certified in one Canadian jurisdiction are considered to have met the requirements for certification in other Canadian jurisdictions without additional training, assessment, or experience requirements. Source
“Under the terms of labour mobility, professionals and tradespeople certified in one Canadian jurisdiction will be considered to have met the requirements for certification in other Canadian jurisdictions without having to undergo additional training or assessment or meet additional experience requirements.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Physiotherapists of Ontario
Credential assessment
Credentialling service
To determine whether a physiotherapy program outside Canada is substantially equivalent to a Canadian physiotherapy program.
Source
“Be a graduate of a physiotherapy program outside of Canada that was deemed to be substantially equivalent to a Canadian physiotherapy program through the credentialling service offered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/universities-and-brid...
Exams
-
Canadian Physiotherapy Examination
Source
“The new Canadian Physiotherapy Examination administered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply -
Ontario Clinical Exam
Source
“The written exam previously administered by the Canadian Alliance of Physiotherapy Regulators, and the Ontario Clinical Exam administered by the College.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Physiotherapists of Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Physiotherapists of Ontario
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state that supervised practice is required for initial registration; a Provisional Practice class allowing supervised practice as a physiotherapist resident exists but is being phased out and no new applicants are being accepted. Source
“You can practice as a physiotherapist resident under a College-approved supervisor. This registration class is being phased out. No new applicants are being accepted.”
collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $25.64 | $46.00 | $54.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $46.15 | $56.21 | — |
Physiotherapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Become a Physiotherapist collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/how-to-apply · fetched October 10, 2026
- Universities and Bridging Programs - College of Physiotherapists of Ontario collegept.org/how-to-become-a-physiotherapist/universities-and-brid... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Jumping Back In - College of Physiotherapists of Ontario collegept.org/2023/08/23/jumping-back-in · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a physiotherapist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the College of Physiotherapists of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Physiotherapy Examination, Ontario Clinical Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.