How to Become a Physiotherapist in Yukon
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing) to work as a physiotherapist in Yukon or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“All physiotherapists working in the Yukon must hold a current Yukon licence.”
From yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/check-if-physioth..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $240
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $240
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $240
- Annual fees
-
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
- Annual licence fee: $200
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $240
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $200
-
When you submit your application online you must pay the one-time registration fee by credit card before the application will be reviewed.
- Registration (one-time fee): $40
Source
“Registration (one-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Source
“When you submit your application online, you must pay your one-time registration fee.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Registration (one-time fee): $40
-
You provide the required documents with your application in an electronic format such as JPG, PDF or PNG.
Source
“You'll need to provide the following documents with your application. You must provide these in an electronic format such as JPG, PDF or PNG.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... -
If your application is approved you are emailed an invoice for the annual licensing fee, which you can pay through the portal.
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Source
“If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Annual licence fee: $200
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $240
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $240 | 100% |
| One-time total | $240 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $240
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $200
-
When you submit your application online you must pay the one-time registration fee by credit card before the application will be reviewed.
- Registration (one-time fee): $40
Source
“Registration (one-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Source
“When you submit your application online, you must pay your one-time registration fee.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Registration (one-time fee): $40
-
You provide the required documents with your application in an electronic format such as JPG, PDF or PNG.
Source
“You'll need to provide the following documents with your application. You must provide these in an electronic format such as JPG, PDF or PNG.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... -
If your application is approved you are emailed an invoice for the annual licensing fee, which you can pay through the portal.
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Source
“If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Annual licence fee: $200
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $240
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $240 | 100% |
| One-time total | $240 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $240
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $200
-
When you submit your application online you must pay the one-time registration fee by credit card before the application will be reviewed.
- Registration (one-time fee): $40
Source
“Registration (one-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Source
“When you submit your application online, you must pay your one-time registration fee.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Registration (one-time fee): $40
-
You provide the required documents with your application in an electronic format such as JPG, PDF or PNG.
Source
“You'll need to provide the following documents with your application. You must provide these in an electronic format such as JPG, PDF or PNG.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... -
If your application is approved you are emailed an invoice for the annual licensing fee, which you can pay through the portal.
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Source
“If we approve your application, we'll email you an invoice for your annual licensing fee. Once you receive this invoice, you can pay through the portal.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Annual licence fee: $200
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $240
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $240 | 100% |
| One-time total | $240 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual licence fee: $200
Source
“Annual licence fee: $200”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration (one-time fee, inactive certificate): $40
Source
“Registration (1-time fee): $40”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... - Late fee: $40 (charged to renewal applications received between February 1 and March 31)
Source
“Late fee: $40 (charged to applications received between February 1 and March 31.)”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/renew-physiothera...
Requirements
Education
You must have graduated from an approved physiotherapy program in the past 3 years.
Source
“graduated from an approved physiotherapy program in the past 3 years”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Insurance
You must provide proof of liability insurance with your application.
Source
“Proof of liability insurance”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Other
Applicants who hold a certificate in another jurisdiction must be in good standing there.
Source
“are in good standing in that jurisdiction”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...If you have had complaints or disciplinary or criminal action against you, your eligibility is assessed case by case and registration may not be approved.
Source
“If you've had any complaints or disciplinary or criminal action against you: - we'll assess your eligibility on a case-by-case basis; and - we may not approve your registration or licensing.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Source
“You: - hold a full certificate in another Canadian jurisdiction; and - are in good standing in that jurisdiction.”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Exams
-
Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE)
Source
“passed the Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE)”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... -
clinical assessment currently replacing the clinical component of the Physiotherapy Competency Exam (PCE)
Source
“hold a certificate if you have not completed the required clinical assessment currently replacing the clinical component of the Physiotherapy Competency Exam (PCE)”
yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/renew-physiothera...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing)
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $30.00 | $46.15 | $56.21 | — |
Physiotherapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Check if a physiotherapist is licensed | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/check-if-physioth... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Apply for a physiotherapist certificate | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/apply-physiothera... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Renew a physiotherapist certificate | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/doing-business/professional-licensing/renew-physiothera... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a physiotherapist in Yukon?
Yes. Registration with the Government of Yukon, Department of Community Services (Professional Licensing) is required to practise in Yukon.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), clinical assessment currently replacing the clinical component of the Physiotherapy Competency Exam (PCE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.