Province comparison
Physiotherapist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Licence required
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Licence required
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 8 |
| Manitoba | $1,063 | Trained outside Canada | 7 |
| Ontario | $114 | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | $1,800 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Yukon | $240 | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Yukon.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained outside Canada | Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), Physiotherapy Competency Examination (written component), Alternate Clinical Evaluation (ACEBC), Jurisprudence exam | — | Not listed | — | $50.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Physiotherapy Competency Examination Written Component, Alberta Post-Graduate Clinical Examination, CPTA jurisprudence module, Canadian Physiotherapy Examination | — | Not listed | — | $46.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Alliance Physiotherapy Competency Examination (PCE), Canadian Physiotherapy Competency Exam (CPTE), Jurisprudence Questionnaire, SCPT Practice Based Assessment (PBA) | — | Not listed | — | $46.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), Physiotherapy Competency Exam (PCE) - Written Component (Qualifying Exam), Practice Based Competency Assessment (PBCA) | — | $1,063 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $39.93 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Physiotherapy Examination, Ontario Clinical Exam | — | $114 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.5 months (partial) | $46.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | OQLF exam | — | Not listed | — | $48.08 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained outside Canada | Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE) | — | Not listed | — | $42.31 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Physiotherapy Exam (CPTE), Physiotherapy Competency Examination (PCE), Interim Competency Evaluation (ICE), British Columbia Clinical Exam, Alberta Clinical Evaluation, Ontario Entry to Practice Exam | — | $1,800 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $42.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), PCE written component, Alternate Examination | — | Not listed | — | $41.88 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Physiotherapy Competency Examination (PCE), PCE WR (written component), Qualifying Examination of the PCE, Jurisprudence examination, CPTE (new single licensure examination) | — | Not listed | — | $45.67 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Physiotherapy Examination (CPTE), clinical assessment currently replacing the clinical component of the Physiotherapy Competency Exam (PCE) | — | $240 (Trained outside Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (96)
- Extra steps (12)
- Not stated (48)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $30.00 | $46.15 | $56.21 |
| British Columbia | $28.00 | $50.00 | $72.12 |
| Alberta | $34.62 | $46.00 | $62.03 |
| Saskatchewan | $37.60 | $46.00 | $53.33 |
| Manitoba | $28.33 | $39.93 | $57.69 |
| Ontario | $25.64 | $46.00 | $54.00 |
| Quebec | $31.25 | $48.08 | $54.91 |
| New Brunswick | $36.00 | $42.31 | $49.04 |
| Nova Scotia | $35.00 | $42.00 | $60.44 |
| Prince Edward Island | $19.23 | $41.88 | $45.00 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $38.75 | $45.67 | $54.09 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.