How to Become an Industrial Mechanic (millwright) in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Industrial mechanic (millwright) is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary. Work in Compulsory trades can only be performed by certified journeypersons or registered apprentices. Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You must be at least 16 years old, a Yukon resident, meet your trade's entrance requirements, and work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
- Apprentice application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old; - be a Yukon resident; - meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and - work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Apprentice application fee: $10 (when you apply to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent in in-school technical training, which ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.
Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training. In-class training ranges from 4 to 10 weeks per year depending on your trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application fee: $15 (to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification)
Source
“You will need to pay a non-refundable $15 application fee to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... - Practical examination fee: $20
Source
“The practical examination fee is $20 and is non-refundable.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Requirements
Experience
To challenge the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship, you must have enough experience working in the trade.
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Other
To register as an apprentice you must be at least 16 years old and a Yukon resident.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old; - be a Yukon resident; - meet the entrance requirements for your trade;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Your apprenticeship employer must employ a journeyperson certified in the trade and be willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in the Yukon. Source
“Trade Qualifier Challenge Option (Yes/No) Trade qualifiers are people who have experience working in the trade, but have not completed an apprenticeship program in Canada.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Review the Red Seal Exam Preparation Guide for more information about the Red Seal exam, how to prepare and practise questions.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
Written Certification Examination
Source
“Written Certification Examination Indicates if there is a written examination required for certification.”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml -
Written Level Examinations
Source
“Written Level Examinations Indicates if written examinations are required to successfully complete and advance past each level of training”
ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml -
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training; - the requirements of your trade; and - recommendation from your employer.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | $22.43 | $42.07 | $58.17 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $24.00 | $37.00 | $52.00 | — |
Industrial mechanics (millwright) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare industrial mechanic (millwright) licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Industrial Mechanic (Millwright) - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/industrial-mech-millwright/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an industrial mechanic (millwright) in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Red Seal exam, Written Certification Examination, Written Level Examinations, apprenticeship level 1 exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.